Visit Jackson (Jackson Convention & Visitors Bureau) is the official Destination Marketing Organization charged with attracting, promoting and facilitating events to and within our market to generate a positive economic impact to improve the quality of life of our citizens. Download the 2017 Annual Report.

About Visit Jackson

Visit Jackson utilizes it services and staff to incorporate several signature programs to aide in strengthening the Jackson product, to recognize its accomplishments and provide resources to accomplish its goals.  

Jackson Miss Hospitality Scholarship Tea Pageant
The Miss Hospitality Scholarship Tea Pageant identifies, honors and utilizes young ladies between the ages of 18 and 24 for the purpose of serving as the city’s goodwill ambassador to promote the industry and economic development.  The winner receives a $1,250 educational scholarship and a chance to compete for more than $100,000 in scholarships and prizes in the Mississippi Hospitality Pageant. 
Please click HERE to download the 2018-19 Application or you can download the 2018-19 promotions poster HERE.

Jennifer Kelly Gray is the reigning 2017-18 Jackson Miss Hospitality.  In her role, she will be active in the City with Soul greeting conventions and meetings in Jackson and participating in a wide-range of tourism events.

Hometown Hero & SUMITT Awards
Visit Jackson celebrates the best of the best in the Tourism Industry each year in the month of July.  The awards program was created by Visit Jackson to recognize and show appreciation for the hard work of the industry’s top professionals who have helped contribute to the success of the tourism industry in Jackson.

o Tourism Visionary Award – the highest industry achievement award recognizes industry partners who navigate new standards of involvement and cooperation to develop Jackson’s tourism future.

o Hometown Heroes – Travel and Tourism Industry Employees in an industry related business, which greatly contributed to the travel and tourism industry by serving above and beyond their usual job duties.

o SUMITT (Superlative Merit in Travel and Tourism) Award – recognize Jackson’s top tourism entities for their outstanding contributions to the advancement of travel and tourism in Jackson.

In 1983, the state legislature established the Jackson Convention & Visitors Bureau now doing business as Visit Jackson. Senate Bill #3080 authorized the creation of Visit Jackson, identified its purpose, and provided for funding through the levying of a 1% sales tax upon hotels/motels and restaurants. These funds form the foundation on which Visit Jackson promotes Jackson as a tourist, group tour, trade show, and convention/meeting destination. Visit Jackson was awarded accreditation from the Destination Marketing Accreditation Program (DMAP) in 2012, and was the first accredited DMO in the state of Mississippi. DMAP is an international accreditation program developed by the Washington, DC based Destinations International which is the world’s largest resource for official destination organizations, convention and visitors bureaus (CVBs) and tourism boards.

Visit Jackson’s three departments:  Administration, Marketing and Sales and Services work collectively to provide services to visitors, conventions, group tour operators, local hotels, restaurants, shops, special events, and attractions, and assist to bring millions of dollars into the local economy annually.

The mission of Visit Jackson is to attract, promote and facilitate tourism to and with our market.

The overall goal of Visit Jackson is to cause major economic impact for Jackson through programs designed to identify, attract and service conventions and meetings, trade shows, group tours and consumer travelers, while impacting the quality of life of local citizens.

Board of Directors
Robert Gibbs-Chairman
Gaines Sturdivant
Marcia Weaver
Ken Crotwell
Monique Davis
Pamela Confer
Jackie Wansley
Carol Burger
The Visit Jackson board of directors meets the 4th Tuesday every month at 8:30 am in the conference room.

Public Record Request Forms can be obtained by contacting our office at 111 E. Capitol St., Jackson, MS  39201 or email: